About us

The Fotokommission

The Fotokommission is a commission of the VSETH and was founded on July 29th, 2019 with the following goals:

  1. Provide photography courses at ETH Zürich
  2. The mediation of photographic services between VSETH and ETH students.
  3. The provision of a photo archive within the VSETH.

During our first semester, 124 students were already able to benefit from our offers. We expect further strong growth for 2020 with over 20 planned courses during the spring semester alone.

In terms of structure / personnel, the photo commission consists of the board and the photographers pool. The board primarily takes care of administration and planning. Members of the pool are used as course instructors and take photos on our behalf for events or for the Polykum.

Our main goal is, to create an environment that offers room for growth to everyone. On the one hand, of course, to course participants, but also to course instructors, event photographers or board members. We focus on personal growth and provide a framework to gain valuable experience.

The board

Nathanael Köhler, president

"I am in my first year of the Robotics Master at ETH. I have been doing professional photography for the last 10 years, ranging from event photography to weddings. I founded the Fotokommission in 2019 after realizing the interest of many students in photography. I love to teach and starting up new things. I like event photography, because it's fast-paced, difficult and covers many different aspects of photography."
Robin Worreby, vice-president

Chris Amevor, IT
Claudio Cannizzaro, Community

Caroline Germeaux, Community & Übersetzung

"I am almost done with mit Food Science Master at ETH. My biggest passion are sports, but I’ve been doing photography for more than half of my life already. I like to look at the details, find something fascinating in something boring, and frame things in new ways. Depending on the picture, I can get quite creative when it comes to editing, creating a piece of art rather than “just” a “boring” picture ;)."
Laura Hunold, Communication


"I am currently in my Bachelor's degree in Food Science. My camera is one of the things I don't want to miss when I go hiking in the mountains! I especially like sunrises and sunsets and I think it's wonderful to be able to capture these moments with my camera!"



Akbar Shah, Equipment

The photographers pool

There are currently 8 photographers in our pool. As soon as we find the time, we will introduce them here.

Our motto

  • We are here to learn.
  • Motivation is important, not skill.
  • We focus on improving skills, not equipment.
  • We show technical expertise in the courses.
  • Photography is about trying out and having fun.
  • No excuses.
  • Be efficient.
  • Clear responsibilities and trust.

Über uns

Die Fotokommission

Die Fotokommision ist eine Kommission des VSETH und wurde am 29. Juli 2019 mit folgendem Zweck gegründet:

  1. Das Anbieten von Fotografiekursen an der ETH Zürich.
  2. Die Vermittlung von fotografischen Dienstleistungen zwischen VSETH und Studierenden der ETH.
  3. Die Bereitstellung eines Foto-Archivs innerhalb des VSETH.

In unserem ersten Semester konnten bereits 124 Studierende von unseren Angeboten profitieren, wir erwarten für das Jahr 2020 weiteres starkes Wachstum mit über 20 geplanten Kursen alleine für das Frühlingssemester.

Strukturell/Personell besteht die Fotokommission aus dem Vorstand und dem Fotografenpool. Der Vorstand kümmert sich in erster Linie um die Administration und die Planung. Mitglieder des Pools werden als Kursleiter eingesetzt und fotografieren in unserem Namen Events oder für das Polykum.

Unser oberstes Ziel ist es, eine Umgebung zu bieten, dank der Alle profitieren können. Zum einen natürlich als Kursteilnehmer, aber auch als Kursleiter, Event-Fotograf oder Vorstandsmitglied. Wir fokussieren uns auf persönliches Wachstum und geben einen Rahmen um wertvoller Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

Der Vorstand

Nathanael Köhler, Präsident

„Ich bin in meinem ersten Jahr des Masterstudiengangs Robotik an der ETH. Seit 10 Jahren mache ich professionelle Fotografie, von Eventfotografie bis zu Hochzeiten. Ich habe 2019 die Fotokommission gegründet, nachdem ich das Interesse vieler Studenten an der Fotografie erkannt hatte. Ich liebe es zu unterrichten und neue Dinge zu beginnen. Ich mag die Event-Fotografie, weil sie schnelllebig und schwierig ist und viele verschiedene Aspekte der Fotografie abdeckt.“
Robin Worreby, Vizepräsident

Chris Amevor, IT
Claudio Cannizzaro, Community

Caroline Germeaux, Community & Übersetzung

„Ich bin fast fertig mit dem Master in Lebensmittelwissenschaften an der ETH. Meine grösste Leidenschaft ist der Sport, aber ich fotografiere bereits seit mehr als der Hälfte meines Lebens. Ich schaue mir gerne die Details an, finde etwas Faszinierendes in etwas Langweiligem und rahme die Dinge auf neue Art und Weise ein. Je nach Bild kann ich ziemlich kreativ werden wenn es ums bearbeiten geht, ein Kunstwerk zu schaffen und nicht „nur“ ein „langweiliges“ Bild ;).“
Laura Hunold, Kommunikation


„Ich befinde mich derzeit im Bachelor in Lebensmittelwissenschaften. Meine Kamera zähle ich zu den Dingen, die bei meinen Wanderungen in die Berge nicht fehlen darf! Sonnenaufgänge und -untergänge mag ich besonders gerne und diese Momente mit der Kamera festhalten zu können finde ich einfach wunderbar!“



Akbar Shah, Equipment

Der Fotografenpool

Zurzeit befinden sich 8 Fotografen bei uns im Pool. Sobald wir Zeit dazu finden, werden wir sie hier vorstellen.

Leitbild

  • We are here to learn.
  • Motivation is important, not skill.
  • We focus on improving skills, not equipment.
  • We show technical expertise in the courses.
  • Photography is about trying out and having fun.
  • No excuses.
  • Be efficient.
  • Clear responsibilities and trust.